Lawton Burns Receives Academy of Management's Distinguished Scholar Award

Lawton Burns Receives Academy of Management's Distinguished Scholar Award

Cited for Outstanding Health Care Management Research and Related Editorial Work

University of Pennsylvania Wharton School Professor and LDI Senior Fellow Lawton Burns has received the Academy of Management (AOM) 2015 Keith G. Provan Distinguished Scholar Award for health care management research.

The AOM Award Committee characterized Burns as, "an international leader in the study of health care systems and dynamics (who) has made a tremendous scholarly contribution over time to the health services and management field."

Lawton Burns (above, left) receives Distinguished Scholar Award from Academy of Management Award Committee member Timothy Hoff, PhD, of Northeastern University.

Vancouver ceremony
In ceremonies at the AOM's annual meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia this month, Burns was honored for his scholarship, his consistent external funding, his work as an editor of the health management textbook, Health Care Management: Organization Design and Behavior, and as Associate Editor of the journal Health Care Management Review

In his comments from the stage, AOM award presenter Timothy Hoff, Professor of Management, Healthcare Systems and Public Policy at Northeastern University, said Burn's work was notable because it "often addressed the important questions needing to be asked in our health care industry’s development, whether it be the effects of managed care on physicians or the way in which Accountable Care Organizations might succumb to similar problems."

International organization
Headquartered on the campus of Pace University in Briarcliff Manor, NY, the AOM is an international professional organization with more than 19,000 members in 100 countries focused on supporting and promoting excellence in established management disciplines.

Burns, PhD, MBA, is a Professor of both Health Care Management and Management at Penn's Wharton School, Director of the Wharton Center for Health Management and Economics, and Co-Director of Penn's Roy & Diana Vagelos Program in Life Sciences and Management.  In 1994 when Burns left the University of Arizona to come to Penn, he was replaced and his office taken over by Professor Keith G. Provan -- the namesake of the award he just received.

AOM Award name change
Originally created as the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2012, the AOM annual honor was designed to recognize outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in the field of health care management research. In 2014, the award's name was changed to the "Keith G. Provan Distinguished Research Scholar Award" and Provan, who died of brain cancer that year, was posthumously named the 2014 recipient.

Provan, PhD, was a Professor of Management in the University of Arizona's Eller College of Management and a world-renowned management scholar and charter member of the AOM Journal's Hall of Fame. A 2014 University of Arizona Memoriam hailed him as "a scholar of the first order who was able to cross disciplinary lines and make seminal contributions to organization theory, public management and health care" -- all qualities the AOM Provan Award now incorporates into its annual selection process.