Past Executive Directors

The five most recent Executive Directors of the Leonard Davis Institute gathered in 2017 to be presented with framed photos of LDI's 50th Anniversary announcement running on the center city PECO building's Crown Lights banner. [Top row] J. Sanford Schwartz, MD, (1989-1998) Penn Medicine Professor; Joanne Levy, MBA, MCP, LDI Deputy Director; William Pierskalla, PhD, MBA, (1978-1983) Professor Emeritus, UCLA Anderson School of Management; David Asch, MD, MBA, (1998 - 2012) Penn Medicine Professor and Executive Director of the Penn Medicine Center for Health Care Innovation. [Bottom row] Mark Pauly, PhD, (1984-1989) Wharton School Professor of Health Care Management; and Daniel Polsky, PhD, (2012 - 2019) Wharton School Professor of Health Care Management. (Photo: Hoag Levins)

Past Executive Directors

Daniel E. Polsky, PhD, MPP   2012-2019

David A. Asch, MD, MBA  1998-2012

J. Sanford Schwartz, MD  1989-1998

Mark V. Pauly, PhD  1984-1989

John C. Hershey, PhD 1983-1984

William P. Pierskalla, PhD  1978-1983

Samuel P. Martin III, MD   1974-1978

Robert D. Eilers, PhD   1967-1974