Samuel P. Martin, III, MD Memorial Lecture with Don Berwick, MD, MPP

Samuel P. Martin, III, MD Memorial Lecture with Don Berwick, MD, MPP

“Changing the Balance of Power”

Lunch begins at 11:30AM in the Biomedical Research Building 14th Floor Faculty Lounge. The seminar will follow at 12:30PM in the Gaulton Auditorium.

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, FRCP is President Emeritus and Senior Fellow at the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), an organization that Dr. Berwick co-founded and led as President and CEO for 18 years. He is one of the nation's leading authorities on health care quality and improvement. In July, 2010, President Obama appointed Dr. Berwick to the position of Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which he held until December, 2011. A pediatrician by background, Dr. Berwick has served as Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Health Care Policy at the Harvard Medical School, Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health, and as a member of the staffs of Boston's Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, and the Brigham and Women's Hospital. He has also served as vice chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, the first "Independent Member" of the Board of Trustees of the American Hospital Association, and chair of the National Advisory Council of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. He served on President Clinton's Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Healthcare Industry. He is a recipient of numerous awards, including the 2013 Nathan Davis Award from the American Medical Association. In 2005, he was appointed “Honorary Knight Commander of the British Empire” by Queen Elizabeth II, the highest honor awarded by the UK to non-British subjects, in recognition of his work with the British National Health Service. He also serves now as Lecturer in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School.

This event is free and open to the public, but please register.

Co-Sponsored by: The Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics, The Division of General Internal Medicine, and The National Clinician Scholars Program