Penn LDI is overseen by a Governing Board comprised of the Deans from the eight schools that support LDI, as well as the Vice Provost for Research, the President and CEO of the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and the CEO of the University of Pennsylvania Health System. In addition, LDI has two committees that assist in planning and strategy, as well as an External Advisory Board.

Governing Board

Erika James, PhD (Chair)

Dean, The Wharton School

Sally Bachman, PhD

Dean, School of Social Policy & Practice

Sarah Banet-Weiser, PhD

Dean, Annenberg School for Communication

Madeline Bell

President and CEO, CHOP

Dawn Bonnell, PhD

Vice Provost for Research

Jonathan Epstein, MD

Dean, Perelman School of Medicine

Steven J. Fluharty, PhD

Dean, School of Arts & Sciences

Sophia Z. Lee, PhD, JD

Dean, Penn Carey Law School

Kevin Mahoney

Kevin Mahoney

CEO, University of Pennsylvania Health System

Antonia Villarruel

Antonia M. Villarruel, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dean, School of Nursing

Mark Wolff, DDS, PhD

Dean, School of Dental Medicine

Internal Advisory Committee

  • Dennis P. Culhane, PhD, Professor, Social Work, School of Social Policy & Practice; Professor, Psychology, Perelman School of Medicine; Professor, Policy Research and Evaluation, Graduate School of Education
  • Joan I. Gluch, PhD, Director, Community Health, School of Dental Medicine; Adjunct Associate Professor, Community Health, School of Dental Medicine
  • Allison K. Hoffman, JD, Professor, Law, Penn Carey Law School
  • ​Robert C. Hornik, PhD, Wilbur Schramm Professor, Communication, Annenberg School for Communication; Director, Center of Excellence in Cancer Communication Research, Annenberg School for Communication
  • John Kimberly, PhD, Henry Bower Professor Emeritus of Management, The Wharton School
  • Julia Lynch, PhD, Professor, Political Science, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Matthew D. McHugh, PhD, JD, MPH, Professor, School of Nursing; The Independence Chair for Nursing Education, School of Nursing; Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholar
  • Atheendar Venkataramani, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Perelman School of Medicine

External Advisory Board

Melanie Bella

Melanie Bella, MBA

Executive Advisor, Cressey & Company; Advisor, Cityblock Health

Sheila Burke

Sheila Burke, RN, MPA, FAAN 

Strategic Advisor, Baker Donelson; Adjunct Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard

Carladenise Edwards, PhD

Former Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Henry Ford Health System

Matt Eilers

Former Managing Director and Global Co-Head, Alternative Capital Group, UBS Securities LLC

David Friend, MD, MBA

Senior Advisor, McKinsey & Company

Julian Harris, MD, MBA

Chairman and CEO, ConcertoCare

Jeffrey Hoffman, MD, FACS

Former Chief Medical Officer, Cambridge Health Alliance

Frederick J. Manning, JD

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Manning Financial Group

Sharad S. Mansukani

Sharad S. Mansukani, MD, CPE

Chairman, Board of Directors, Convey Health Solutions

Rosemary Mazanet, MD, PhD (Chair)

R. Mazanet LLC  

Tim McDonald, MBA

Partner, Guidon Partners

Karen Murphy, PhD, MBA, RN

Executive Vice President, Chief Innovation and Digital Transformation Officer; Founding Director, Steele Institute for Healthcare Innovation, Geisinger

José A. Pagán, PhD

Professor and Chair, Department of Public Health Policy and Management, New York University School of Global Public Health  

Corbin Petro

Co-Founder and former CEO, Eleanor Health

John Rydzewski

Director, Health Outlook Corporation

Craig Samitt, MD, MBA

CEO and Founder, ITO Advisors

Robert (Bobby) Schmidt, MBA

Managing Director, Healthcare Private Equity Investor, The Carlyle Group

Allyson Schwartz

Senior Advisor, Healthcare and Life Sciences Strategic Communications Practice, FTI Consulting  

Rahul Singhvi, ScD, MBA

Co-Founder and CEO, National Resilience, Inc.