Policy Seminar with Lee A. Fleisher, MD

Data, Policy, and the Journey from Academic Clinician to Policymaker

12:00p.m. – 1:00p.m. ET January 21, 2022 Virtual Event

Join Lee A. Fleisher as he discusses the role of CMS in health care policy, including the recent health care vaccine mandate and recent medication coverage decisions. Dr. Fleisher will also talk about the use of data in creating and implementing federal regulations, and his journey from academic clinician to policymaker.


Lee A. Fleisher, MD

Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS); Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Perelman School of Medicine

Lee A. Fleisher, MD was named the Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in July 2020. In this capacity, he is responsible for executing all national clinical, quality, and safety standards for health care facilities and providers, as well as establishing coverage determinations for items and services that improve health outcomes for Medicare beneficiaries. He is also a Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care and Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, and an LDI Senior Fellow. His research focuses on perioperative cardiovascular risk assessment and reduction, measurement of quality of care, decision making, implementation of cultural change, and health policy.

Dr. Fleisher has received numerous federal, industry, and foundation grants related to these subjects and has published 195+ original articles, over 200 editorials, reviews and book chapters, and nine books. He collaborates with anthropologists, sociologists, as well as faculty from law, business, and nursing. He was Treasurer of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Finance Committee of the National Quality Forum. In 2007, he was elected to membership of the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) of the National Academy of Sciences, and served on Committees of the NAM.

Supported by the Charles C. Leighton, MD Memorial Lecture Fund.