LDI Senior Fellows Elizabeth Howell and Steven Joffe were named new members of the National Academy of Medicine at NAM’s Oct. 17 annual meeting.

Howell, MD, MPP, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Perelman School of Medicine; Joffe, MD, MPH, is Professor and Chair of Perelman’s Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy.

The pair were among 100 members named to what is one of the highest honors in the field of health and medicine. The election process recognizes “individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.”

“Exceptional Scholars”

“This extraordinary class of new members is comprised of exceptional scholars and leaders who have been at the forefront of responding to serious public health challenges, combatting social inequities, and achieving innovative discoveries,” said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau.

Howell was cited for “illuminating the extent and origin of racial and ethnic disparities in women and children’s health, and elucidating interventions to remedy these disparities through her pioneering health services research, leadership, and advocacy.”

Joffe was cited for “being a leading expert in research ethics and developing the most widely used instrument for measuring the quality of research informed consent; re-conceptualizing grounding the ethics of human subjects research in scientific experimentation rather than medical care; and building a world-leading medical ethics division.”

Howell and Joffe join 28 other LDI Senior Fellows who are members of the NAM.

More LDI News

Blog Post

Population Health

Why Health Privacy Online Is a Myth

Google Knows More About Your Health Than Your Mom, LDI Experts Explain. And Here’s What Can Be Done About It

  • Nancy Stedman